Rightupinthere wrote:BG84 wrote:What do you think of the elbowing penalty?
I took another look on the 55” frame by frame. I’m not 100% on whether there was contact but I’m !00% sure the QU player tried. The was definite upward movement with the left arm and lead with the elbow. That’s what the ref saw.
In the heat of battle, it was a reasonable call.
I think that, generally, definitions of penalties include "... or attempts to ..." Clipping, for example (2018-2020 rules):
Clipping includes all cases in which an attempt to clip is made, regardless of whether contact occurs.
In the case of elbowing, that's not included in the definition, but the interpretation says,
Elbowing penalties may be assessed as minor, major, game misconduct or disqualification penalties, even though physical contact with an opponent may not have occurred.